Today: Oct. 1, 2023
+880 1896-042977

University of South Wales

University of South Wales

Times Ranking
QS Ranking



Year Established


Student Satisfaction


Average Living Cost


Average Tuition Fee


University Campus

The University of South Wales is located in Wales. It was formed on 11 April 2013 from the merger of the University of Glamorgan and the University of Wales, Newport. The university can trace its roots to the founding of the Newport Mechanics Institute in 1841. With more than 31,000 students from 122 countries, the university is the sixth largest in the United Kingdom and the largest in Wales. The university is part of the University of South Wales Group comprising the university, the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama and the Merthyr Tydfil College. It has a band of 106 partner colleges, universities, FE institutions or organizations, who deliver University of South Wales’s higher education programs or access courses in the UK and 18 other countries. There are four faculties spread over its four campuses in South East Wales: Faculty of Business and Society; Faculty of Computing, Engineering and Science; Faculty of Creative Industries; Faculty of Life Sciences and Education. The university has a film school, animation facilities, broadcasting studios, a photography school, a reputation for theatre design, poets, scriptwriters and authors as well as the national music and drama conservatoire, the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, as a wholly owned subsidiary. It offers a range of qualifications from further education to degrees to PhD study. As a Post 92 University it delivers a range of STEM subjects, from engineering and mathematics to computing and surveying.

Professional fields:

  • All Business,
  • Management & Finance (BMF) 
  • Engineering, Computer Science & Mathematics (ECM) 
  • Life Sciences (LS) 
  • Humanity and Social Sciences (HSS) 
  • Medicine, Dentistry & Healthcare (MDH) 
  • Built Environment (BE) 
  • Art and Design (AD)